Very nice, well equipped cottage in lovely setting

This is a very nice and well equipped cottage in a lovely setting. The owners were really helpful with the booking arrangements and very promptly answered any queries we had. The cottage was warm and cosy with great views over the moor and pond, where a male stag held territory. We even had a pine martin on our trail camera we set up in the garden. Easily accessible from the road with ample space for 2 cars.

Trip Advisor (5 star) - January 2021 (stay in Autumn 2020)

Perfect Base

Woodside Cottage is a perfect base for exploring the Ardnamurchan peninsula in any direction. The cottage was very clean and comfortable and the kitchen was equipped with absolutely everything you could need. The owner has made very serious commitments to the new Covid requirements so we felt perfectly safe. Unfortunately the wildlife didn't play ball - even the stag most guests hand feed didn't show itself. Luckily, there is plenty of wildlife around this beautiful area which did present itself, even an otter at the nearby hide! The night skies are truly wonderful viewed from the cottage decking. A lovely cosy, comfortable cottage, definitely recommend.

Trip Advisor (5 star) - October 2020

 

Woodside is our perfect paradise, so happy to return for our 2nd stay.

Our 2nd year back at Woodside. We were so happy to return. This cottage is in such a beautiful setting, it is easy to forget reality and just enjoy the experience. The cottage has all we need, it is lovely and warm and comfortable. Can happily sit on the decking and watch the world go by. We had regular visits from the stag, whom I had named Hector last year, he loves the carrots we give him. We also had a quick visit by a red squirrel and many birds, including 2 herons arguing over the pond. The area has so much to explore and we did a lovely walk to The Singing Sands Beach which is stunning. Thank you to Tony for providing the details for walks. The night skies are amazing and my partner did a night time photography tuition which was a fabulous experience. To sit and watch all the stars and see shooting stars is something I will always remember. In what has been a difficult year for all, Woodside has left us with some great memories. See you next year.

Trip Advisor (5 star) - September 2020

Fantastic Place to Stay

We spent a wonderful week here. Woodside had everything we needed, was very comfortable, and the views were stunning. Also, despite being on the A861 there was very little traffic and it was very quiet. It is also well situated to access all this beautiful area has to offer. We would thoroughly recommend this property and hope to visit again.

Trip Advisor (5 star) - September 2020

Excellent Holiday Cottage

We have just returned from a great week’s holiday in Ardnamurchan. Woodside Cottage was exceptional. Two beautiful bedrooms, a large lounge leading out to an area of decking where you can sit and watch the wildlife and a fully equipped modern kitchen. The Cottage is set in beautiful surroundings with breathtaking views. The owner offered plenty of advice regarding the local area, Restaurants etc. and also full details regarding procedures for Covid-19 which was extremely helpful. We will certainly be back to Woodside and we would have no hesitation in recommending the Cottage to anyone.

Trip Advisor (4 star) - August 2020

Perfection and tranquil

This was our second stay at woodside and even better than the first! Cottage was very clean and warm. Everything provided and finished in the property is very high quality and works effortlessly. Woodside is also positioned perfectly to explore the whole Ardnamurchan peninsula and during our stay we seen eagles, otters, porpoise, end even minke and basking shark off the lighthouse. A local stag also came to the cottage boundary daily for his snacks which was great to just chill and watch him roam around (and in!) the pond. We will have no hesitation in booking another stay at this fabulous cottage, we just love it.....

Trip Advisor (5 star) - August 2020

Fantastic cottage in beautiful location

Fantastic, well appointed, clean cottage, as described. Views from decking or lounge. Beautiful location. Visiting red deer stag! Heron in pond. Red squirrel in the tops of Scots pine at the front of the cottage. Responsive owner, provided wealth of information about walks and local amenities. Stunning scenery and lovely beaches on the doorstep. Well stocked local shop and fantastic Cafe Tioram (breakfast, lunch & cake!) with lots of benches to enjoy the view in Acharacle. Singing Sands walk, Ardtoe beach and Castle Tioram walk all within 10/15 mins drive. Beautiful location for wildlife hide at Garbh Eilean - seals on island, recommend Salen Hotel for dinner. Definitely hoping to return!

Trip Advisor (4 star) - August 2020

Lovely little house in a fantastic area

The perfect house for exploring this wonderful area. Well positioned for heading out and about, but comfortable and peaceful for sheltering on those rainy days (we had a few!). Always something to look at out of the window. Within walking distance of a great restaurant, and easy cycling distance of Castle Tioram / Acharacle shop etc. The local stag visited us most days to say hello, which the kids loved. We enjoyed cycle rides out to the Singing Sands and up Glen Moidart just to the north, as well as walks along "The Silver Walk" from Castle Tioram -a lovely footpath and in the woods by Loch Sunart. Longer drives out to Ardnamurchan Point, and Mallaig (with a boat trip on which we saw a Sea Eagle soaring above, amongst other things).

Trip Advisor (5 star) - August 2020

online reviews from our guests